The meaning of yoga is “yoke”. In a spiritual sense it can be interpreted as the union of jivatma and paramatma. According to Maharishi Patanjali yoga it is cittavrttinirodhah, the control of the movements of the mind.

There are eight limbs of yoga, namely:
yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi.

Yoga is an easy way of reaching enlightenment. The instruction of yoga is done by an expert in the field.

Performing yoga, dhyana and samadhi is reached. Dhyana is the natural concentration, which is the door to the inner self. The easiest method is to start with dhyana on the personal deity (ishta). By meditation on the ishta the internal consciousness is awakened. Through this awakening the qualities of the practitioner, his behaviour, his thinking, and his activities are improved, and his desires are easily reached. That is called the ishta siddhi, the supernatural power acquired by the grace of the ishta.

In addition to that, improvement of health like lower blood pressure, reduction of heart diseases, increase of memory and peace of mind are reached through regular practice.

Screen Shot 2011-11-01 at 6.58.55 PM
jyotish book 1
yagyas book 1
meditation book 1
shiva 1